Skip to main content

Magnificent Paganini Musical Quotation from His 2nd Violin Concerto

At Auction
Item: 23101
Add to Wishlist

PAGANINI, NICCOLO. (1782-1840). Italian musician and composer; regarded as the violin’s greatest virtuoso. AMusQS. (“N. Paganini”). 1p. 8vo. London, July 28, 1833. Nine double measures of the theme from the third movement, Rondo del Campanello, (also known as La Clochette) marked “Allegretto,” from his famous Violin Concerto No.2 in B minor, Op. 7.

A child prodigy, Paganini began his career playing throughout the surroundings of his native Genoa, followed by a successful premiere in Milan in 1813, after which his name became synonymous with virtuoso. Many of Paganini’s compositions were deemed unplayable, prompting some to claim that his talent was the result of supernatural, if not diabolical, influences. Composed in 1826, his Violin Concerto No. 2 is best remembered for the third movement, the theme of which Paganini has written out for piano in the present example. The work inspired the third of Franz Liszt’s six Grandes études de Paganini, S. 141 (1851) and Johann Strauss, Jr.’s Walzer à la Paganini, Op. 11.

On May 14, 1831, Paganini arrived in London where he gave the first of a series of 18 concerts. So well received was his debut, that even The Times, which had protested the high ticket prices, admitted, “‘He is not only the finest player that has ever existed on that instrument, but he forms a class by himself,’” (The New Grove Dictionary). He returned to England for additional tours during 1832 and 1833. On July 15, 1833, he gave his last documented performance of the 2nd Violin Concerto at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane. Our lengthy quotation was written out the day after he performed at the Theatre Royal, Covent Garden on July 27, 1833.

Gently creased with some bleeding of the ink. Matted with a lithograph of Paganini; the quotation is slightly toned at the right margin, observable beneath the mat. Piano scores in Paganini’s hands are rare and desirable.

Magnificent Paganini Musical Quotation from His 2nd Violin Concerto

    Just this once...
    Please share your name and email address to receive:

      We will not share your contact info